Kemp and Ellsbury Named FanSided MLB Players of the Year

Today FanSided MLB announced the winners of our final award for the 2011 season. Our network’s choices for American and National League Players of the Year are none other than Boston’s Jacoby Ellsbury and the Dodgers Matt Kemp. Despite both players being immensely talented, each had their share of struggles in 2010, and that makes their accomplishments this season all the more impressive and all the more memorable.

The articles, and full voting results for both awards, can be found on our flagship MLB site, Call to the Pen (click here for the AL and here for the NL).

Seedlings to Stars was responsible for voting on the AL half of the Player of the Year Awards. Since the ballot process required that we include 10 players for this award, I’m going to list our votes in a slightly different fashion than I have on the past announcements.



  • Jose Bautista – Toronto
  • Jacoby Ellsbury – Boston
  • Miguel Cabrera – Detroit
  • Justin Verlander – Detroit
  • Dustin Pedroia – Boston
  • Alex Avila – Detroit
  • Adrian Gonzalez – Boston
  • Mike Napoli – Texas
  • CC Sabathia – New York
  • Curtis Granderson – New York


  • Justin Verlander – Detroit
  • Jacoby Ellsbury – Boston
  • Miguel Cabrera – Detroit
  • Curtis Granderson – New York
  • Jose Bautista  – Toronto
  • Adrian Gonzalez – Boston
  • Victor Martinez – Detroit
  • Michael Young – Texas
  • Adrian Beltre – Texas
  • Robinson Cano – New York


Follow us on Twitter: Nathaniel (@stoltz_baseball), Wally (@thebaseballfish) and James (@JAYRC_MCB). You can also keep up to date with all things S2S by liking our Facebook page.

Tags: Boston Red Sox Jacoby Ellsbury Los Angeles Dodgers Matt Kemp Player Of The Year

comments powered by Disqus